## HB 455 (2022) - Surgical Abortion Expansion #AfterRoe

This legislation was passed in Delaware in 2022. When HB 320 was passed prior to this bill, supporters reassured that APRN's would only be allowed to prescribe chemical abortion and their scope of practice would not extend to surgical. HB 455 made that reassurance null and void as it expanded the scope of practice for APRN's, nurse practitioners, midwives, and physician assistant to perform surgical abortions. It also protects abortion providers from liability for performing abortions on out-of-state patients.

HB 455 also makes it clear that "reproductive health services" is code specifically for "abortion."

Application: This removes the current 'physician-only' safeguard of surgical abortions. By expanding access to abortion, Delaware becomes an abortion hotspot.

## 2022 HB 455 Roll Call:

| SUPPORT       |              |               |  | OPPOSE       |               |
|---------------|--------------|---------------|--|--------------|---------------|
| <u>House</u>  |              | <u>Senate</u> |  | <u>House</u> | <u>Senate</u> |
| Baumbach      | Osienski     | Brown         |  | Briggs-King  | Bonini        |
| Bennett       | S. Moore     | Ennis         |  | Collins      | Hocker        |
| Bentz         | Schwartzkopf | Gay           |  | D. Short     | Lawson        |
| Bush          | Wilson-Anton | Hansen        |  | Dukes        | Lopez         |
| Carson        |              | Lockman       |  | Gray         | Pettyjohn     |
| Brady         |              | Lopez         |  | Hensley      | Richardson    |
| Chukwuocha    |              | Mantzavinos   |  | Morris       | Wilson        |
| Cooke         |              | Paradee       |  | Postles      |               |
| Dorsey-Walker |              | Pinkney       |  | Shupe        |               |
| Freel         |              | Poore         |  | Smyk         |               |
| Griffith      |              | S. McBride    |  | Spiegelman   |               |
| Heffernan     |              | Sokola        |  | Vanderwende  |               |
| K.Johnson     |              | Sturgeon      |  | Yearick      |               |
| K.Williams    |              | Townsend      |  |              |               |
| Kowalko       |              | Walsh         |  | ***Absent:   |               |
| Lambert       |              |               |  | Bolden       |               |
| Longhurst     |              |               |  | Lynn         |               |
| Matthews      |              |               |  | M. Smith     |               |
| Minor-Brown   |              |               |  | Ramone       |               |
| Mitchell      |              |               |  |              |               |
| Morrison      |              |               |  |              |               |